Shirring (with elastic thread)

This is a new technique to me and I just got up the nerve to try it last week.  I used a mystery remnant from wal-mart since I didn’t want to waste any of the good fabric!  The remnant was the perfect size to make a top for a friends daughter.  It took a lot of fiddling with my machine and ripping out a few rows of stitching but I finally got the settings right.  It is really fun to do once you get it right!  I would show you a picture, but in my excitement to give it away, I forgot to take one.  I am planning some more though so I’ll get some pictures eventually….

I found that on my machine I had to turn the tension up to about 7 or 8 to get the right amount of stretch.  I started with it low and it would barely stretch and the fabric slid around on the elastic. 

Here are some helpful hints for shirring:

Shir Madness Tutorial (portabello pixie)

Sunny Day Top or Dress Tutorial (house on hill road)

Shirred Dress Tutorial (kuky ideas)

Leave a Reply

