You Are My Sunshine Quilt (pinwheel blocks and hand embroidery)

I thought I had written about this quilt here, but it was over on craftster. (where I haven’t visited much lately…) I started this quilt in the spring when we were selling our house. Most of my other sewing things were packed up and it was my only project to focus on.

You are my sunshine quilt-pieced top complete!

Here is the progress on this quilt for my son. One of “our” songs is “You are my sunshine”-we sing it every night as part of his bedtime routine. I thought -why not make a quilt with all of the words?? So the little guy and I headed off to the quilt shop and picked out some fabrics-yellow, since that is the color of the sun (according to the 3 year old!) and I wanted shades of blue with it since his room is blue. The fabrics are not all part of the same line- I found the tiny yellow and blue polka dots first for the background, then the big yellow polka dots, and grabbed some fat quarters for the blue parts. Then we looked again in the yellow fabrics and found one with circles all over that looked like suns, and that will be for the back and binding.

I did not follow a pattern for this quilt, I just let the idea of it tumble around in my head for a while. I knew the middle was going to have the words embroidered on it, so I needed some blocks that would make a good border for the middle panel. I tried to find a quilt block that looked like a sun, but didn’t find much that I liked. Finally I settled on pinwheel blocks. So that is where I started.  These 2 pages from Quilter’s Cache are what I used as basic instructions for making the pinwheel blocks. (Pinwheels Border and Speed Piecing Half Squares).  I made up enough blocks to form a border and then sewed them around the solid middle panel.

You are my Sunshine Quilt-pinwheel blocks progress  You are my sunshine quilt-middle panel with border

Then came the embroidery-This took some planning! I typed up the words on the computer and spaced them out on the middle panel. Then I traced the words onto some pattern tracing material cut to the size of the panel. Then I hung that in the window and traced the words onto the middle panel.  It took me about a week and 4 skiens of embroidery floss! Once that was done, I added the outside border and made up the corner squares from scraps.

You are my sunshine quilt-words layout You are my sunshine quilt-top section of words You are my sunshine quilt-corner closeup

Now, it needs to be quilted….I’m just not sure what to do with that middle section where the words are! The poor thing sits on the shelf waiting for me to pick it up again.

3 Responses

  1. I sang the same song to my first born. She is now 19yrs old. And moved out. When I think of that song it brings joyful tears to my eyes and a warm fuzzy feelin to my heart . Thank you for sharing. LaRae

  2. That is a sweet quilt with an even sweeter sentiment behind it. I have wondered the same thing though about quilting after embroidering. I am working on a quilt now that I’ve embroidered a nursery rhyme in the sashing around the blocks. I’m not sure whether I should hand quilt in the sashing, or just leave it as is. I did quilt around the seams, but nothing behind the actual letters. I’d love to hear how yours has turned out, or if you have any suggestions.

  3. Oh, my dad used to sing that to my sister and I…

    What a wonderful quilt!

Leave a Reply

