2 Amy Butler Projects

#1: Fashion Checkbook Clutch 

I got Amy’s book, In Stitches for Christmas.  Of all the projects to start with, I choose this!  It took me about a week to finish because I kept getting stumped!  Of course, I didn’t follow the directions completely either-well, that was due to me wanting to use what I had and not buy anything!  So here’s how mine turned out:  (details of what I did different are below)
fashion checkbook clutch-front

fashion checkbook clutch-inside empty      fashion checkbook clutch-inside filled fashion checkbook clutch-inside cell phone pocket

Fabrics:  canvas home dec print for the outside (interfaced with fusible fleece-instead of Timtex), quilting cottons for the inside (interfaced with heat n bond and cotton-instead of  heavyweight fusible interfacing)

Modifications made:  No ruffle.  No velcro on the outer flap pocket.  I had to piece the inside fabric since I didn’t have a long enough piece.  Added a flap over the lower right hand pocket to help secure cell phone from sliding out.  Sewed bias tape around the lining panel, then sewed to outer panel, since folding the edges under and stitching to the outer panel would not work-It was too thick to fit under the presser foot!  (and I was NOT going to hand stitch it!) **Using the bias tape made the bottom pen holder unuseable, and the right and left credit card pockets are a tight fit. Otherwise it fits in just fine after cutting off the seam allowance**  Attached a purse-like strap by sewing in tabs with a handle attached at the spine. 

 Overall, I think it turned out OK.  This was a learning project because I have never constructed anything like it before.  I am used to sewing the lining and outer together then flipping it right sides out to finish-this pattern had you folding in the raw edges then sewing together.  But, I think I can figure out how to finish a zippered bible cover I started last year-I couldn’t figure out how to put in a lining and this might be the best way to do it!  Whew, glad that’s done…now I’ll try an easy one-like the kitty tunnel or a floor cushion!

 #2 Slimmed Down Nappy Bag

I have had this pattern for almost a year now (borrowed from a friend) and am just now getting around to trying it out.  I haven’t made this style bag yet (is is a sling or hobo? not sure what it is really called) and I like the style of the nappy bag, just not how BIG it is!  So I traced the pattern onto some lightweight interfacing and made it much smaller.  I also made boxed corners on the bottom instead of sewing it flat together.  The style of the nappy bag flares out on the bottom and I didn’t want that either.  The inside pockets are just stitched up the middle-I did not add the side bottle pockets or the cell phone pocket on the strap that the pattern calls for. 

Finished dimensions: 9″w x 11.5″ t(22.5″ including straps) x 3.5″d

blue and green diamonds bag    

blue and gree diamonds bag inside

nappy bag pattern-modified

3 Responses

  1. I found your blog through craftster. I’ve been admiring your little black zippered bag there. Now this checkbook you’ve posted here is so great. I thought I wanted that Amy Butler book but now I KNOW I want it! Thanks for sharing your project with everyone!

    Kelly

  2. Dear Josie,
    This is fantastic help! I found this pattern through a website but I’m in brazil and I can’t get a pattern to me quick enought to sew and bring this to a friend in the States for Christmas! Any other tips you might have for directions, etc. would be great! All I have is the list of fabrics on amy butler’s site and your pictures…
    Thanks! Gretchen

  3. Thank you for this tremendous pattern

Leave a Reply

